PayU vs PayGlocal: which is better for international payments in 2026?
- PayU is a domestic-first gateway with full RBI authorisation, but its international product is a card checkout, not a collections account — so B2B invoicing doesn't fit
- PayGlocal runs a tiered multi-currency account fee with no FX markup — flat $10-$18, then 0.25% above $7,500 — but onboarding is sales-assisted rather than instant self-serve
- Which one is better comes down to your priorities - fees, FIRA handling, and how your clients prefer to pay
Accept payment from 150+ countries
USD
Client pays
USD 100USD 100,000
1 USD = 95.73 INR
Live fx rateYou'll receiveINR
₹4,75,374
PayU
₹4,52,133
You lose:5.5%
PayGlocal
₹4,76,617
You lose:0.4%
100+ reviews
Trusted by 40,000+ businessesOver $1B processed • Licensed by RBI







PayU vs PayGlocal: understanding the key differences
Both PayU and PayGlocal are well-known names for international payments, but they differ in who can use them from India, fees, export documentation like FIRA, GST compliance, settlement timelines, and support. Here is how they compare side by side.| Features | PayU | PayGlocal |
|---|---|---|
| Transfer fees | 3% on international cards (2% domestic) | $10/$18 flat, then 0.25% by tier |
| Forex markup | 1.5-2.5% (anecdotal) | Zero, live interbank rate |
| FIRA | Not documented publicly | Automated, free, instant |
| eBRC | Not documented | Not stated as automated |
| GST-compliant invoice | Not published | Invoicing tool, GST format not stated |
| Settlement time | T+2 standard (domestic) | Within 24 hours of conversion |
| Customer support | India-based, ticket and email | Phone, email, tickets, account manager |
| Best suited for | Consumer checkout, recurring card billing | Cards plus multi-currency collections on one stack |
PayU vs PayGlocal: pricing and forex breakdown
Beyond the published fees, the real cost is what lands in your bank after fees, forex and GST. Move the slider to see what each one works out to, and how Skydo compares.With Skydo, you receive₹9,54,024
Money transferUSD 10,000
$500$10K$100K$1M
PayU1.5-2.5% markup
₹9,04,266Exchange rate93.82
Forex markup₹19,146
Card fee₹28,719
Fixed fee₹0
GST (18%)₹5,169
Total fees₹53,034
You receive₹9,04,266
PayGlocal0% markup
₹9,55,267Exchange rate95.73
Forex markup₹0
Transfer fee₹1,723
Fixed fee₹0
GST (18%)₹310
Total fees₹2,033
You receive₹9,55,267
PayU vs PayGlocal: compliance, payment rails, and platform comparison
Compliance
Payment Rails
Platform & Support
PayU
- FIRA handling is not documented publicly at all
- No eBRC generation documented for exporters
- No documented GST-compliant sales invoicing
- Purpose code handling is not documented publicly
- Card checkout only, and no bank transfer collections
PayGlocal
- FIRA generated automatically on every settlement, not weekly or consolidated
- No published claim of automated eBRC for DGFT filing
- GST-compliant invoicing not specifically stated
- Purpose code assignment not publicly disclosed
- SOFTEX and EDPMS not stated as platform-automated
PayU vs PayGlocal: which one is right for you
There is no single winner. The right pick depends on who pays you, how large your invoices are, and how much paperwork you can handle.01PayU
Choose PayU if:
You want PayU's domestic reach and can absorb 3% plus a 1.5 to 2.5% forex markup on top.- Consumer e-commerce brand selling to buyers overseas
- Ed-tech or SaaS business billing global customers by card
- Business already running PayU for domestic payments
- Seller who needs recurring card billing
02PayGlocal
Choose PayGlocal if:
You want a single RBI-authorised stack covering cards, multi-currency accounts and domestic UPI.- Business also processing significant card-payment volume
- Exporter wanting a dedicated account manager over self-serve
- Enterprise needing custom volume-based pricing
- Business that can live without a published eBRC or purpose-code claim
Skydo: a better alternative to PayU and PayGlocal
| Features | PayU | PayGlocal | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Settlement time | T+2 (domestic) | Within 24 hours | 24 hours |
| Forex markup | 1.5-2.5% (anecdotal) | Zero, interbank | Zero, live rate |
| Transaction fee | 3% intl cards | $10/$18 flat, 0.25% above | $19 up to $2k, $29 up to $10k, 0.3% aboveBest |
| FIRA | Not documented | Automated, free, instant | Free, instant, per payment |
| eBRC and EDPMS | Not documented | Not stated | One-click eBRC, EDPMS closure assistance |
| GST invoicing | Not published | Tool, GST not stated | Built in, GST compliant |
| Customer support | India-based tickets | Phone, email, account manager | India-based, on WhatsApp, call and email |
| Payment tracking | Dashboard reports | Real-time notifications | Auto tracked, remittance to bank deposit |
| RBI authorisation | Full PA aggregation (2025) | Full PA-CB-I&O (Nov 2025) | Full PA-CB authorized |
Losing money on each transfer but not sure how much?
See what our clients say about us
100+ reviews
Trusted by 40,000+ businesses
“I'm looking for straightforward, transparent pricing. With most payment providers, it's hard to understand the actual fees and exchange rates, making it difficult to know what I'm really paying.”ShashankCEO, HCODE
Frequently asked questions
Which is better, PayU or PayGlocal, for international payments in 2026?+−
It comes down to how your clients pay you and how much compliance you want handled. PayU is a domestic-first gateway with full RBI authorisation, but its international product is a card checkout, not a collections account — B2B invoicing does not fit. PayGlocal runs a tiered multi-currency account with no FX markup and full RBI authorisation, though onboarding is sales-assisted rather than instant. PayU suits consumer checkout and recurring card billing, while PayGlocal suits card payments plus collections on one stack.
Is PayU cheaper than PayGlocal?+−
Usually not. PayU lists 3% for international cards, with an anecdotal 1.5 to 2.5% forex markup on top, landing near 5% all in. PayGlocal runs tiered pricing — flat $10 to $2,000, $18 to $7,500, then 0.25% — with zero FX markup, roughly 0.25 to 1% all in. PayGlocal is generally cheaper, though what actually lands in your bank depends on invoice size.
Which provides better exchange rates, PayU or PayGlocal?+−
PayGlocal. PayU carries an anecdotal 1.5 to 2.5% forex markup on top of the card MDR, while PayGlocal converts at the live interbank rate with zero markup.
Do PayU and PayGlocal provide FIRA for Indian exporters?+−
PayU does not document FIRA provision publicly for exporters. PayGlocal generates FIRA automatically and free on every settlement. For GST refunds and export compliance an instant per-payment FIRA matters — Skydo issues one free with every payment.
Are PayU and PayGlocal RBI-approved for receiving payments in India?+−
PayU holds full RBI authorisation across online, offline and cross-border payment aggregation (2025). PayGlocal holds full PA-CB-I&O and PA-O authorisation (Nov 2025).
Is PayU or PayGlocal better for freelancers or businesses?+−
Consumer e-commerce brands selling to overseas buyers at checkout lean towards PayU. Businesses that also process card payments and want one RBI-authorised stack lean towards PayGlocal.
Is there a better alternative to PayU and PayGlocal for receiving money in India?+−
Skydo is built for Indian exporters and freelancers. It charges a flat fee ($19 up to $2k, $29 up to $10k, 0.3% above) that works out cheaper than a percentage fee as invoices grow, with zero forex markup, instant FIRA on every payment, one-click eBRC and EDPMS closure assistance, built-in GST-compliant invoicing, full RBI PA-CB authorisation, and India-based support.
Ready to save more on international payments?
Start receiving global payments with Skydo and keep more of what you earn.Bengaluru, Karnataka
Second Floor, Indiqube Serenity, Phase 2, 31, Hosur Rd,near Vishal Megamart, Muneswara Nagar, Sector 6, HSR Layout,Bengaluru, Karnataka, 560068
Company
Copyright © 2026 Skydo Technologies Private Limited